Path of Exile

Public section for all games
mob
Cadet
Cadet

Path of Exile

Post by mob » 07 Oct 2013, 18:17

http://www.pathofexile.com/
I've spoken to a few of you about this game on TS. It is my go-to game when I'm not in CS:GO, right now.

Path of Exile is, essentially, a Diablo clone. It is considered by many a Diablo 2 fan to be what they wished Diablo 3 had been like. Namely, not dumbed down into oblivion, a la Diablo 3.

The game is currently in open beta and has been since January this year. I started playing shortly before closed beta ended and the game has changed substantially in that time, with new skills and balance changes coming in regularly. The game is going to be released properly in just over 2 weeks time, with a new class, extra levels and many other new features.

It has one of the most complicated, awe-inspiring skill trees of any game I've ever played. The first time I looked at it I was lost for words, but as time goes on you learn the intricacies of how to build viable and versatile characters.

One of the big things that, I believe, sets Path of Exile apart from the other Diablo clones (including Diablo 3) is the level of involvement that the developers, Grinding Gear Games, have with the community. They are a small studio based in New Zealand but have managed to appeal to gamers of all nationalities, hosting regular race seasons and other tournaments for players.

Path of Exile is free to play and they plan to make their money from ethical microtransactions. This means things like aesthetics and extra stash tabs. Nothing game breaking can be purchased with money.

Anyway, check it out. If you enjoyed Diablo 2 at all, then you will love this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDFO4E5OKSE

This is the launch trailer:

http://www.gametrailers.com/videos/lhwf ... se-trailer